Holocaust and Genocide Education Advisory Committee

The Connecticut Holocaust and Genocide Education Advisory Committee is an autonomous voluntary body operating under its own policies and positions. It provides guidance, including suggested curriculum materials and resources, to the Connecticut Department of Education to assist schools with implementing the Connecticut Holocaust and Genocide Education and Awareness Act (Public Act 18-24 of 2018).

The Advisory Committee offers webinars, workshops and other professional development throughout the year. If you would like to know more, please contact Voices of Hope at info@ctvoicesofhope.org. You can also see past webinars, workshops and other online recommendations here. We also recommend CT teachers to go to the Holocaust and Genocide Education page at the Connecticut Department of Education.

Members of the Advisory Committee as of November 9, 2020:

Stuart Abrams, Voices of Hope Board Member and Teacher at Avon High School

Stephen Armstrong, Connecticut State Department of Education Social Studies Consultant

Kimberly Ballaro, Director, Holocaust Education Resource and Outreach (HERO) Center, Voices of Hope

Alan Berkowitz

Gail Blanc

Michael Bloom, Executive Director, JFACT

Daniel Einsiedel, Department of Education Intern

Kate Field, Connecticut Education Association

Mari Firkatian, Professor, University of Hartford

Bob Fishman, Connecticut Immigrant and Refugee Coalition (CIRC)

Kathy Fishman, Executive Director, Voices of Hope

Peter Fishman, President, Voices of Hope

Andy Fleischmann, Former Chairman of the Education Committee, State of Connecticut

Steve Ginsburg, Anti-Defamation League, Director, Connecticut Regional Office

Melissa Hickey, Director of Literacy, Connecticut Department of Education

Adele Jacobs, Vice-President, Voices of Hope

Sam Kassow, Professor, Trinity College

Robin Landau, Director of Programs and Development, Voices of Hope

Alan Lazowski, Chairman, Voices of Hope and Chairman, CEO and Founder of LAZ Parking

Rabbi Philip Lazowski, Holocaust survivor

Peter Lilienthal, United Jewish Federation of Stamford

Marji Lipshez-Shapiro, Anti-Defamation League, Senior Associate Director, Connecticut Regional Office

Jason Mancini, Akomawt Educational Initiative

Alan Marcus, Head of Secondary Social Studies Education, University of Connecticut

Armen Marsoobian, Profess, Southern Connecticut State University

Glenn Mitoma, Director, Dodd Impact, University of Connecticut

Chris Newell, Executive Director and Senior Partner to Wabanaki Nations at the Abbe Museum

Allison Norrie, Teacher at Warde High School

Joe Olzacki, Superintendent, Region 14 Schools

Jessica Palliardi, Teacher at Hall High School

Avinoam Patt, Director, Center for Judaic Studies and Contemporary Jewish Life, University of Connecticut

Sydney Perry, President, JFACT

David Pettigrew, Professor, Southern Connecticut State University

Ray Rossomondo, Connecticut Education Association

Jane Schreiber, Temple B’nai Israel Human Rights

Colleen Simon, Humanities Teacher, Solomon Schechter Day School

David Simon, Yale University, Director of Graduate Studies, Center for African Studies; Co-Director, Genocide Studies Program; Director of Undergraduate Studies

Endawnis Spears, Director of Programming and Outreach, Akomawt Educational Initiative

Laura Stefon, Connecticut Department of Education Chief of Staff to Commissioner

Marge Swaye

Ann Tucci, Social Studies Department Head, Danbury High School

Dan Weiner,

Ruth Weiner, Holocaust survivor